From: Exit Staff
Kosovo Parties Sign Agreement on Coalition Government Led by Albin Kurti

Lëvizja Vetëvendosje Party (LVV) and the Democratic League of Kosovo (LDK) have signed an agreement on a coalition government on Sunday.

Party leaders Albin Kurti (LVV) and Isa Mustafa (LDK) held a press conference this morning to confirm the news, after yesterday’s unconfirmed reports. They announced that the new government will be voted in Parliament on Monday.

The coalition agreement includes the resignation of the newly elected Speaker of Parliament Glauk Konjufca, who will most probably be replaced by LDK’s Vjosa Osmani. It further stipulates that the new government will have 15 ministries, 3 more than previous plan, and 33 deputy ministers. Each of the largest parties will lead 6 ministries, while the remaining 3 will go to ethnic minorities in Kosovo.

Today’s agreement is the result of 4-month-long active talks between the LVV and LDK, which started even before the October 6 elections. However, the content of the agreement seems roughly the same with LVV’s previous suggestion after the election – except for the additional 3 ministries – which the LDK had refused. It had asked for assurances that the country’s president would be from the LDK in 2021. According to today’s agreement, this issue will be discussed later.

The LVV leader had stated earlier that removing Kunjufca as Speaker of Parliament would be undemocratic and was not going to happen. Glauk Konjufca is expected to become Minister of Foreign Affairs in the government led by Albin Kurti.

The coalition agreement signed today will reportedly pass a vote with LVV party members as well as in the highest LDK forum, before the Kurti government faces tomorrow’s parliamentary vote.