EU Lifts Travel Restrictions for 15 Countries, Not for Albania   

Citizens of 15 countries will be able to travel to EU member states starting July 1. Albanian and several other countries in South-East Europe are excluded from the list.

The Council of the EU has adopted a recommendation on the gradual lifting of the temporary restrictions on non-essential travel into the EU. The list will be updated every two weeks.

The Council has recommended that citizens of the following countries can enter the EU starting from July 1: 

  • Algeria
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Uruguay
  • China

Selection is made based on the Covid-19 situation in each country. It includes the number of cases per 100,000 inhabitants over the last two weeks, which should be equal or lower than the EU average; stable or decreasing trend of new cases over this period in comparison to the previous 14 days; overall response to Covid-19, including testing, surveillance, contact tracing, containment, treatment and reporting, as well as the reliability of the information.

Albania ranked sixth in Europe in the past two weeks for the highest number of infections per 100,000 inhabitants.

People from third countries who are long-term EU residents can still travel despite the ban, as well as travelers with an essential function or need, and EU citizens and their family members.