From: Exit News
Austria Issues Highest Level Travel Warning for Western Balkans, Advises Its Citizens to Leave the Region

Austria has issued a travel warning to its citizens for the six Western Balkans countries.

Austrian Foreign Minister Alexander Schallenberg announced the highest level 6 warning against travelling to Albania, Kosovo, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro, and North Macedonia. This also means that any Austrian citizens already in these countries are advised to leave as soon as possible.

Schallenberg added that there had already been Austrian coronavirus infected cases that could be traced back to people coming from Western Balkans countries.

Austria’s decision stands in contradiction to the Council of Europe’s recommendation that EU Member States open their borders for Montenegro and Serbia.