From: Exit News
Albania Bans Travelers from Six African Countries over Omicron Variant Concerns

Albania has banned people who have travelled to South Africa, Kenya, Angola, Zambia, Botswana, and Senegal from entering the country over concerns regarding the Omicron variant.

Staring December 3 and for the next three weeks, travelers who have been in these countries won’t be able to visit Albania, except for Albanian citizens and residents. This latter will need to quarantine for two weeks following entry into Albania.

The Committee of Experts made the announcement on Thursday, despite the fact that according to the latest reports, the Omicron variant was already present in Europe before being detected by South African scientists.

The Committee also notified that all public servants, as well as supermarket and shopping mall employees, must get vaccinated by December 31. Starting January 4, they will be required to show a vaccination certificate to continue their jobs.

Earlier today, the Ministry of Health authorized booster shots for all adults who received their second dose at least six months before the booster.

Otherwise, curfew hours will remain unchanged, starting at 11 p.m. and ending at 6 a.m.

Mask are mandatory indoors, and all indoor gatherings have a 50-person cap. Likewise, spectator events, like sports matches, will take place at 30% capacity.