From: Exit Staff
Albanian President Decrees New Government, Final Vote by Parliament Imminent

Albanian President Ilir Meta has decreed the third Rama government. 

The proposed candidates for MPs were sent to him for his consideration. He then had the option of decreeing or rejecting the nominations. During the process, he made an unprecedented request to the Prosecution to divulge if any of the proposed candidates were under investigation for any crime. The answer was negative.

Now the candidates have been decreed by Meta, they will pass to parliament where the 140 deputies will vote on them. As Rama’s Socialist Party has a majority, there will likely be no issue.

Rama will assume his position as Prime Minister of Albania for the third term and his deputy will be Arben Ahmetaj.

The rest of his cabinet comprises 15 other members, 70% of which are women. 

Once parliament votes on the MPs, each is expected to give an oath to Meta. This remains awkward as some of the MPs were involved in voting to dismiss him earlier this year. The case is before the Constitutional Court.

The cabinet is as follows: Olta Xhacka Minister for Europe and Foreign Affairs, Niko Peleshi Minister of Defence, Bledar Cuci Minister of the Interior, Delina Ibrahimaj Minister of Finance and Economy, Belinda Balluku Minister of Infrastructure and Energy, Evis Kushi Minister of Education, Ulsi Manja Minister of Justice, Frida Krifca Minister of Agriculture, Elva Margariti Minister of Culture, Ogerta Manastirliu Minister of Health, Mirela Kumbaro Minister of Tourism, Elisa Spiropali Minister of State Relations with Parliament, Edona Bilali Minister of State for Entrepreneurship, Bora Muzhaqi Minister of State for Youth and Children, Milva Ekonomi Minister of State for Service Standards.