From: Exit Staff
Baltic States Ban Belarusian President and Officials from Entry

Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia have banned the entry of Belarusian President Alexander Lukashenko and 29 other senior officials into their countries.

The sanction against Lukashenko came after electoral irregularities in the presidential election and the suppression of post-voting protests. Citizens and journalists have been assaulted, arrested, and allegedly mal-treated while in custody. Foreign journalists have had their visas revoked.

The list of banned individuals also includes the president’s eldest son, Viktor Lukashenka, who is a member of the National Security Council, officials of the presidential administration, the Central Election Commission, the Ministry of Interior and Justice, the Prosecutor General’s Office and the Committee for Investigations.

“We need peaceful dialogue and agreement between the regime and the people, but we see that the regime is not ready for that,” said Lithuanian President Gitanas Nauseda.

Earlier, EU leaders announced the imposition of sanctions on people responsible for violence against protesters and election fraud.