EU Liberalizes Visa for Ukraine and Georgia, Leaves Out Kosovo

After late-night talks between EU member states and the European Parliament, a deal has been reached to allow visa-free travel from former Soviet Union republics Ukraine and Kosovo into the EU.

The measure still needs to be formally approved by the European Parliament.

This makes Kosovo the only European country with visa restriction for the European Union. Although the country fulfills all the formal requirements for visa-free travel, the border dispute with Montenegro continues to be an obstacle.