From: Exit News
European Parliament Urges Five Member States to Recognize Kosovo

The European Parliament will, once again, call on the five Member States who do not recognize Kosovo’s statehood, to do so as soon as possible.

Radio Free Europe reports that this invitation appears on the draft report on Kosovo, prepared by the Committee on Foreign Affairs and European Parliament Rapporteur for Kosovo Viola von Cramon, and is directed specifically to Cyprus, Greece, Romania, Slovakia, and Spain.

The document stresses that recognition of Kosovo’s statehood would be beneficial to the normalization of relations between Serbia and Kosovo.

Additionally, the draft report demands the European Commission liberalize visas for Kosovo, stipulating that the country has fulfilled all the conditions put forth for visa liberalization, since 2018.

The document also advises that Kosovo must increase attempts to address issues of rule of law, fundamental rights, institutional functionality, and economic development.

The draft report will undergo discussion at the European Parliament Committee on Foreign Affairs, before it is voted on as a report. Consequently, it will be passed on to the European Parliament plenary session, where, following discussion, it will be voted on as a resolution.