Albania Extends Economic Sanctions against Russia

Albania has extended its economic sanctions against Russia until January 31, 2018.

The government’s decision follows the decision of the European Council from June 28 to extend these sanctions to the same date. Except Albania, Montenegro, Norway, and Ukraine have also followed the decision of the EU.

EU High Representative Federica Mogherini welcomed the decision of these state which, although not part of the EU, have joined their policy toward Russia.

The EU’s economic sanctions against Russia were imposed in 2014 in response to the occupation of the Crimea. The sanctions are aimed at the energy sector, and the defense and financial industry, making it difficult for the country to enter the European capital markets. Albania joined the EU sanctions in 2014.

In return, Russian President Vladimir Putin has extended the sanctions against the countries that sanctioned Russia until January 2018.